Jones Scholarship

Through the generosity of the Jones family, Hazelwood Christian Church received a designated gift to establish a permanent fund to create the C. Darrell and Edith L. Jones Scholarship.  As a result of a special friendship with John Pence, and assistance and encouragement from Dr. Robert Sulanke, this scholarship has been established to honor the Jones family and to assist worthy college students from the Hazelwood Church family.

>> Please download, print, fill-out and return the scholarship form

Charles Darrell Jones was born in Muncie in 1908, and he graduated from Muncie High School in 1926.  After graduation, he attended Ball State Teachers College and competed in Track and Field.  He was a three-year letterman, and he became the Cardinals’ first national champion when he won the NCAA high jump in 1931 with a leap of 6′ 3¾’’.  He held the Ball State high jump school record for 35 years, and the highest hurdles mark for 32 years.  He was an Olympic Trials qualifier in 1932, and he won many other track awards during his collegiate career. Mr. Jones received the Helms Athletic Foundation Hall of Fame Award in 1957, and he was inducted into the Ball State Athletic Hall of Fame in 1976. He owned and operated the Jones Agency (now operating as Oliver Dorton Insurance Agency) for 25 years, until his retirement in 1974.  He was co-owner of J & M Engineering from 1943-47.  He was a World War II veteran.  Mr. Jones died in 1992, at the age of 83. Edith Ludington Jones was born in Muncie in 1907.  She was a member of the Ludington family, who were active members of the Jackson Street Christian Church (now Hazelwood).  She graduated from Muncie High School in 1925, and she attended Ball State Teachers College, where she earned a degree in teaching. She taught at Stevenson School for two years, at Emerson School for one year, and at Garfield School for seventeen years before her retirement in 1947. Mrs. Jones was a member of Sigma Phi Gamma Alumnae, Indiana Retired Teachers Association, Ball Memorial Hospital Auxiliary, and the YWCA.  She died in 1996 at the age of 88.

The value of each scholarship will be established each year based on scholarship income available, the number of applicants, and the cost of attendance at the school of choice. The value of the scholarship will be based on the cost of tuition, fees, books, and related education expenses at the school of choice. Awards will be submitted to the Financial Aid Office of the school of choice. No recipient receives, in combination with other scholarship and grants, an amount that exceeds the total cost of attendance as determined by the scholarship committee.

The scholarship will be limited to a total of four (4) years of undergraduate study, five (5) years for an approved five-year program. Renewal applicants must complete a renewal application by March 1.  Applications will be available by December 1. In addition, the applicant for renewal must have attained a minimum grade point average of a 2.6 on a 4.0 scale, and completed a minimum of 12 semester hours or 18 quarter-hours of academic credit during the first semester of attendance. Although the scholarships will be awarded prior to the completion of the second semester, the same requirements are expected during the second semester. A copy of the college transcript is required. Exceptions to these standards can be made after a review of extenuating circumstances, at the discretion of the Scholarship Committee.

The Scholarship Committee, as specified in the Trust, is composed of the following members:

  • Hazelwood’s Senior Minister
  • A member of the Church’s Board of Trustees
  • A member selected at-large, from the Hazelwood congregation, by the Board of Trustees
  • An attorney, who will serve ex-officio to the Committee without voting rights, selected by a majority vote of the Committee members.

The Scholarship Committee will determine the number of scholarships and the amounts thereof to be awarded each year, based on the number of applicants and the income available from the Fund. The Scholarship Committee will establish and publish application procedures, filing and deadline dates, and will carry out other functions deemed necessary for the proper administration of the scholarship program.

High school seniors who meet the eligibility criteria may obtain an application after December 1 of each year.

  • Applications are due no later than March 1 of each year.
  • Applicants must submit a transcript from their high school which indicates their class rank at the end of the seventh semester.

The “C. Darrell Jones and Edith L. Jones Scholarship Fund” has been established to assist deserving students with the cost of higher education.  Applicants for this scholarship will be considered on the following criteria:

  1. Demonstrate exemplary moral and spiritual character;
  2. Demonstrate potential for leadership and success in higher education;
  3. Demonstrate qualities of self-reliance, initiative, and good citizenship;
  4. The applicant, or applicant’s parent or parents, shall have been a member of the Hazelwood Christian Church for two (2) years or more, immediately preceding May 1 of the year of application for the scholarship;
  5. The awards are for one academic year, but can be renewed at the discretion of the scholarship committee;
  6. The applicant must rank in the top 50% of his or her high school graduating class;
  7. The scholarship is for undergraduate study only, and the student must be enrolled as a full-time student (12 hours or more) in a degree program; priority will be given to applicants who, without such financial assistance, might otherwise be unable to attend;
  8. Demonstrate leadership and Christian service to the Hazelwood Christian Church, Muncie community, and Delaware County.

>> Please download, print, fill-out and return the scholarship form